Our major supporters
Bertha Foundation

"We are proud to be partnering on such fantastic initiatives." Rebecca Lichtenfeld, Bertha Philanthropies

Ford Foundation

"Experts in collaboration, innovation and rapid prototyping." Cara Mertes, Ford Foundation

Channel 4

"Their success is testament to the public appetite for award-winning films with something important to say." David Abraham, Channel 4

Hello & Welcome

We are a non-profit founded in 2005 committed to enabling great documentary films and connecting them to audiences globally.

Based in London and New York we work with filmmakers and partners all over the world.

Our Mission

We befriend great filmmakers, support great films, broker new partnerships, build new business models, share knowledge and develop audiences globally.

We aim to lead by example - innovate, share and be copied, and innovate again.

"For many years BRITDOC has spotted and supported the most urgent projects - nurturing them with love, ensuring they make a difference. It is the forum for our most important conversations in nonfiction cinema."
Joshua Oppenheimer,
Director, Act of Killing

Our Driving Principle

Great documentaries enrich the lives of individuals. They have a unique ability to engage and connect people, transform communities and improve societies.

That's why we are dedicated to the Impact of Art, and the Art of Impact.

Find out more, download our latest book

What we do

Our five strategic areas

23,000,000
$ Raised at 28 Good Pitch events
4,958,934
£ Granted to films since 2005
18,870
Users of the Impact Field Guide
1,538
Teachers using Doc Academy
254
Films granted
85
Editions of Something Real
25
Doc Impact Award winners
11
Years of operation
5
Oscar nominations (and 1 win)


May we write to you?

Join our amazing mailing list*

* with monthly playlist

"I love your newsletters they're packed with personality and wit."
Anna Godas, Dogwoof
Don't believe Anna?
Preview the latest.

Our Offices

LONDON

The BRITDOC Foundation & BRITDOC Charitable Trust,
50 Frith St,
London, W1D 4SQ

NEW YORK

BRITDOC Inc,
45 Main Street,
Suite 547, Brooklyn,
New York

Contact Us

These are the most common enquiries, click to get straight to the right person

Who
Are We?

"For me, BRITDOC is synonymous with passion, commitment, energy, humour, vision, rigour and vodka-based cocktails."
Tabitha Jackson, Sundance Institute

BRITDOC Foundation Team in London

  • Ayan Yusuf
    Project Coordinator
    ayan@britdoc.org

  • Beadie Finzi
    Foundation Director
    beadie@britdoc.org

  • Isabel Shapiro
    Production Manager
    isabel@britdoc.org

  • Jess Search
    Chief Executive
    jess@britdoc.org

  • Jo Harding
    Doc Academy Manager
    jo@britdoc.org

  • Karen Fairholm
    Financial Controller
    karen@britdoc.org

  • Luke W Moody
    Head of Film
    luke@britdoc.org

  • Nicole van Schaik
    Deputy Director
    nicole@britdoc.org

  • Oliver Rivers
    Finance Director
    oliver@britdoc.org

  • Sandra Whipham
    Foundation Director
    sandra@britdoc.org

  • Shuet-Kei Cheung
    Grants Officer
    shuet-kei@britdoc.org

  • Stéphanie Little
    Head of Production
    stephanie@britdoc.org


BRITDOC Foundation consultants and freelancers

  • James Franklin
    Creative Director
    james@britdoc.org

  • Jessica Edwards
    Impact Producer
    jessica@britdoc.org

  • Katie Speight
    Editorial Consultant
    katie@britdoc.org

  • Mike Lindsay
    Artistic Director for Live Events
    mike@swooshed.co.uk

  • Stu Tily
    Technical Director
    stu@britdoc.org


BRITDOC Inc Team in New York

  • Elise McCave
    Deputy Director
    elise@britdoc.org

  • Maxyne Franklin
    Foundation Director
    maxyne@britdoc.org


BRITDOC Inc consultants and freelancers

  • Bruni Burres
    Consultant

  • Iyabo Boyd
    Outreach Manager
    iyabo@britdoc.org

  • Naomi Walker
    Outreach Director
    naomi@britdoc.org

  • Patricia Finneran
    Good Pitch Consultant

  • Sandi DuBowski
    Outreach Director
    sandi@britdoc.org


BRITDOC Foundation Board

  • John Bates
    Chair of the Board

  • Mark Cridge
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Rob Berkeley
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Tony Tabatznik
    Non-executive Board Member


BRITDOC Charitable Trustees

  • Angela Seay
    Chair of the Board

  • Stephan Chambers
    Trustee

  • William Sieghart
    Trustee


BRITDOC Inc Board

  • Alex Grashow
    Board Member

  • Anurima Bhargava
    Board Member

  • Vince Warren
    Board Member


Our
Values

Independent

We are free to choose who we work with and how we do it. This independence means we always uphold creative, journalistic and personal integrity.

Supportive

We don’t interfere with the creative process, we support it. We are the friend of the filmmaker and the film always comes first.

Collaborative

We have seen the greatest impact through collaboration. As such, we share what we learn and create best practice with our partners.

Evolving

We are consciously and constantly evolving – because tomorrow needs new ideas. For us, problems are an opportunity for change.

Serious

We take documentaries seriously, but not ourselves.

Joyous

We love what we do and we want to work with people who feel the same way.


Our Supporters

We can only do what we do because of organisations and individuals who fund our work

Thank you everyone.

Major Partners:

logo_bertha logo_ford

Founding Partner:

Channel 4

Supporters: